Toona Reflection

Toona Reflection

This term we went to Toonallook for our camp. I had so much fun, and made many memories and friendships. I loved learning about all my classmates, and building strong friends. I loved Toona and can’t wait for more fun times!

On the first day, we arrived at Bulleen at 8:00, and everyone was so excited! We watched minions, as well as some other movies. We were on the bus for 4 hours, so we were pretty tired, everyone one was hungry and tired, so for the rest of the day we pretty much were just getting used to the camp by having a tour, doing a treasure hunt so we can find our way around camp, and overall getting used to our  surroundings. We were even lucky enough to have the choice to go out for a swim! The water was so cold, but so amazing at the same time. Josh, a camp staff, taught us how to play king ball, which is so fun, and I think everyone thought in their free time they wanted to play king ball. For dinner we had burritos, and let me tell you Trish is an amazing cook! It felt so good to have a shower after our long day, and pretty much ready to go to bed. As a fun game after having a shower,  we played the Foot Game which was so much fun! After our fun games it was time to go to bed, we had to have a good sleep for tomorrows big day!

On the second day we had some great times, and to start off our fabulous day we got a visit by the water police! They taught us about everything we need to know about safety on the water, and to my surprise, you can get your boat licence at 12! We were having so much fun, and we even got to breathe test some of the teachers! After our fun with the water police, my group- the Afterburners went kayaking. Jaime and I had to communicate and collaborate to get the kayak working, and let me tell you it wasn’t easy, but we got there and had a blast! We even got to go for another swim, and again the water was freezing, but everyone loved it! After we had had our showers, we went bike riding, it was so hot! And I was so thirsty! So when I got back  I was really tired and it felt so good to have some water! We had to ride on the sand, and it was really hard, but when we got on the beach, we had a lot of fun. For afternoon tea we had Trish’s amazing scones! The  tastiness of the scone with some strawberry jam, unforgettable. Then we went off to have fun on the expedition night, where we camped out in tents! We sat around the camp fire eating burgers and milo, while playing games, before the day had ended and we were ready for bed. 

To start our third day, the Afterburners went on a boat out to a jetty across from Raymond Island, where I made some memories including getting a splinter in my butt! It was so much fun even though we didn’t catch any fish, because we were just relaxing on the jetty. Coco, one of the year 11s, even played some calm music for us which made it even mor relaxing.Then we stopped at a park to have lunch before our bike ride on Raymond Island. On the ride we saw 35 koalas! Grace, one of the camp staff, told us there was once 600 koalas on the island! That’s a lot of koalas! We were so tired when we got back to camp, we just played king ball, and Jaime and I even got to king! For dinner on our last night we had lasagne, and again it was amazing! We were all so appreciative that Trish had taken the time to cook us a wonderful meal! For dessert we had jelly and ice cream, which was also very yummy! We were so tired after our big day and ready to go to bed.

On our last day we had to pack up all our stuff, and even got to to a Team Challenge, this included collaboration activities, bike riding, and much more! The Afterburners ended up winning, even though  we were still all happy and proud of ourselves. The bus ride was another 4 hours, but my friends and I had a good time talking to each other. When I got home I was so tired, and happy to be back home, even though I had a great time on camp!

That leads my amazing adventure to an end. I had a great time, and I am sure I will love the camps in the future! What has been your favourite camp?

One thought on “Toona Reflection

  1. Hi Goldie,
    I really like Christmas too because I love spending time with family and friends. I also enjoy swimming in the pool and getting presents! What is your favourite part about Christmas?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *